In Rome on Wednesday, Karolina Pliskova lost her cool in a 3-6, 6-3,
7-5 loss to Maria Sakkari. The usually stoic Czech disagreed with chair
umpire Marta Mrozinska over a call when she put away an easy overhead at 5-5, deuce, in the third set.
Despite TV replays proving Pliskova's shot was in, HawkEye and the
challenge system isn't used on clay so the chair and line umpires rely
on ball marks to settle disputes.
Instead of shaking hands with Mrozinska, Pliskova left a hole in the
umpire chair—a move that will very likely result in a fine though none
has been announced yet.
The WTA has leveled a 100,000 fine in Czech Koruna currency for Karolina's outburst, which is approximately $4,592 in US dollars. Karolina donated that amount to charity. Further, reports have it that several top-10 players went to WTA officials in Rome to speak in behalf of Karolina. Apparently it had some effect. The fine is about right.....
The link to the above-noted item is in a Czech news items. Google translate is a mess.
Lastly, it's reported (unconfirmed) that the Chair has been suspended from the next 2 Slams because of her mishandling of that point. Alrighty......